pickup trucks

One of my favorite songs, and since it is saturday. I used to play this song with the kids when they were growing up and we would go to town in my ‘Big Dodge’ I called (the mule) cause that truck could pull a house. I still have the truck, I’m rebuilding the motor and repainting it/ restoring an old classic. But any-who, here’s the lyrics to Jerry Jeff Walkers song.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yea, I used to look forward to Saturdays. When me and my grandpa’d get way. We’d hop in his pickup truck and we’d go to town. We had a couple chores that we had to do. It didn’t take long before we were through.  Then we’d let the pickup truck just wander around.
 
We’d make a run to the county dump. We’d always wave when we saw someone. Grandpa make up a song as we rolled along. To the post office without fail. We get some feed and we’d check out the mail. And we never took the same road twice on the way back home.
I spent a few years out runnin’ free. I spent two or three in New York City And I moved back to Texas tired, hell I’d had enough. I’d go to Luckenbach on Saturdays, Cause Hondo had a way to brighten up my day. He always made me laugh when we rode in his pickup truck. We’d make a run to the county dump.  We’d always wave when we saw someone, Hondo’d make up a tale as we rolled along. To the post office without fail, He’d get some chew and we’d check out the mail And we never took the same road twice on the way back home.
 
Well I miss grandpa and Hondo too, I really miss the things that used to do, So last week I went out and bought me an old pickup truck. Now me and the kids spend Saturdays. We do fun things in a simple way. We love to start the day with a ride in the pickup truck. We make a run to the county dump. We always wave if we see someone. The kids love to make up a song as we roll along. To the post office without fail. We get some stamps and we check out the mail. And we never take the same road twice on the way back home. Half the fun’s gettin’ lost on the way back home.
 
 
You aint gotta be country to love doing that.
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
A Texan was talking big in a bar one night about how much money he had, how many women he had been with and how much land he owned.
 
A young man, growing tired of all the big talk finally asked the Texan, “Just how much land do you actually own”?
 
The Texan tipped back his cowboy hat and said to the young man ” Well sonny let me put it to ya like this, I can get in my pickup at sunrise, drive all day long, skip lunch and still not get to the
other side of my property by sundown”.
 
The young man shot back quickly, ” Oh yeah, I know what you mean, I used to own a Chevy truck too”!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
Q. Why did Ford put heaters in the tailgates of their new trucks?
A. To keep their hands warm when they are pushing the truck into the shop
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
the term pick-up truck
 
A man pulled up next to a little girl walking home from school and
said “If you get in, I’ll give you a lollypop.”
 
The girl kept walking. Following along slowly, the man said “Come on and get in the car with me and I’ll give you two lolly pops.”
 
She kept her eyes on the sidewalk and continued on her way.
 
The man said “Get in with me and I’ll give you this whole bag of lollypops!”
 
Finally, the girl turned and said “Look daddy, YOU bought the Dodge, YOU ride in it!!!”
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
the ice cream truck melted………..
 
 
 
have a truckin’ good day
 

 

Leave a Reply

