backwards

I was with Sarge yesterday, buying a tire, when a car pulled up and a man got out and asked if he could air up his tire, that was nearly flat. They told him, “Okay,” and he began putting air in his tire. The passenger got out to help and I noticed that his hat was on backwards and up side down. (The hat was like that of a golfers, a brim and band but nothing up top.

I said, “I don’t mean to impose, but did you know your hat is on backwards and upside down?” The man replied, Yeah!” I didn’t pry. I thought about this and wondered if this person would wear their pants on backwards, or shirt. I don’t exactly understand the idea of wearing a hat backwards or upside down.

My son, Flip, use to wear his cap backwards and I always tried to understand why. I suppose it is like the Fonze, wearing a t-shirt and blue jeans, so others try and dress like him. But who are they trying to imitate, that wears a hat backwards. Would you drive your car backwards on the freeway? Or walk backwards everywhere you go? I wrestled with this thought and realized they must think backwards… and up side-down!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cowboys and outlaws, riht guys and southpaws,
Good dogs and all kinds of cats.
Dirt roads and white lines and all kinds of stop signs,
But I stand right here where I’m at,
‘Cause I wear My Own Kind Of Hat.

There’s two kind of lovers and two kind of brothers,
And two kind of babies to hold.
There’s two kind of cherries and two kind of fairies,
And two kind of mothers I’m told, and told

Cowboys and outlaws and right guys and southpaws,
Good dogs and all kinds of cats.
Dirt roads and white lines and all kinds of stop signs,
But I stand right here where I’m at,
‘Cause I wear My Own Kind Of Hat.

There’s two kind of brothers and two kind of lovers,
And two kind of babies to hold.
There’s two kind of cherries and two kind of fairies,
And two kind of mothers I’m told, and told

Cowboys and outlaws and right guys and southpaws,
Good dogs and all kinds of cats.
Dirt roads and white lines and all kinds of stop signs,
But I stand right here were I’m at,
‘Cause I wear My Own Kind of Hat.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

may your day be forward

 

Leave a Reply

